(519) 807-6873

2013 Bitzer Awards


Sponsored by the German-Canadian Business & Professional Association

This award has been established to recognize University of Waterloo Engineering students wishing to attend an established undergraduate exchange program in Germany or Austria, most notably, the Technical University of Braunschweig, the Technical University of Hamburg-Harburg, the Technical University of Munich, or the Technical University of Vienna. Two such awards, in the amount of $2,500 each, are available for the academic year 2013/14 to qualified Canadian UW students. The successful students will be selected based on academic achievement and German language competence. Preference will be given to students whose exchange is for more than one term. Recipients will be expected to make a brief oral presentation to the German-Canadian Business & Professional Association upon their return to Waterloo.

Wilfrid Laurier BitzerWilfrid Laurier Bitzer

Benefactor and Humanitarian

W. L. Bitzer was born and raised in Berlin, Ontario (Kitchener since 1916).  In 1956 he became the first Honorary Consul of the Federal Republic of Germany in Kitchener-Waterloo. The Bitzer Family received the German Pioneers Award for their outstanding contribution to this community on October 9, 2012.


Click here to view the 2013 Blitzer Awards Program which includes a list of all winners.

Here are the two 2012/2013 University of Waterloo students that will be presenting at the Bitzer Award Function on the 22nd of October.

Lucas Kim Sangwoo

Lucas Kim Sangwoo

Technical University Hamburg-Harburg

Daniel Van Lanen

Daniel Van Lanen

Technical University Braunschweig

For the year 2013/2014, the following two students have been chosen:

Vincent Ren – Technical University Braunschweig

John Adamek – Technical University Munich